International Thespian Society welcomes 10 new members

Ten Mount St. Mary Academy theatre arts students were inducted into the International Thespian Society on Friday, April 8. During the special ceremony held on campus and led by current Thespian members, the inductees pledged to pursue excellence as students of theatre, to perform their best, to accept praise and criticism with grace, to cooperate with fellow thespians and work for the good of the troupe, and to share their love of theatre.


“Membership in this international organization is not only a reward for the fine work you have done, but further evidence of your desire to continue to work in this specialized field,” Malingo Matute ’22, vice president of MSM Troupe #8462, said during the ceremony. “As a troupe, your work will contribute to the growth of better theatre in this community, our country and throughout the world.”


Benefits of Thespian induction include membership in the only international honor society for high school theatre arts students; leadership opportunities at the troupe, chapter and national levels; and eligibility for scholarships, grants, and awards through the Educational Theatre Association and its festivals.


Congratulations to Mount St. Mary Academy’s newest inductees and members of MSM Troupe #8462: Brianna Boggs ’24, Elizabeth Darnold ’24, Hope Harvey ’25, Maya Johnson ’25, Mary Mayo ’23, Lindsey Morris ’25, Isabella Nguyen ’25, Annabelle Owen ’25, Anna Polk ’23 and Kimberley Sorsby ’24.


Mount St. Mary Academy, sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy, develops young women with a moral and intellectual foundation rooted in Catholic tradition. Mercy-minded and college-prepared, our students meet the future with wisdom, compassion and integrity.