Theatre Arts Students Inducted Into International Honor Society

Eleven Mount St. Mary theatre arts students were inducted into the International Thespian Society on Monday, April 15. During the special ceremony held on campus and led by current Thespian members, the inductees pledged to pursue excellence as students of theatre, to perform their best, to accept praise and criticism with grace, to cooperate with fellow thespians and work for the good of the troupe, and to share their love of theatre.


“Membership in this international organization is not only a reward for the fine work you have done, but further evidence of your desire to continue to work in this specialized field,” junior Avery Appleton, president of MSM Troupe #8462, said during the ceremony. “As a troupe, your work will contribute to the growth of better theatre in this community, our country and throughout the world.”


Benefits of Thespian induction include membership in the only international honor society for high school theatre arts students; leadership opportunities at the troupe, chapter and national levels; and eligibility for scholarships, grants, and awards through the Educational Theatre Association and its festivals.


The 11 MSM students recently inducted into the International Thespian Society include: Isabella Boyd ’20, Grace Dunaway ’20, Lily Eagan ’20, Fran Edwards ’21, Josephine Fitz ’21, Sophie Mammarelli ’20, Malingo Matute ’22, Lilly Newton ’20, Alexandra Powell ’22, Claire Ryscavage ’19 and Natalie Vailes ’22.


Mount St. Mary Academy, sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy, develops young women with a moral and intellectual foundation rooted in Catholic tradition. Mercy-minded and college-prepared, our students meet the future with wisdom, compassion and integrity.